Abstractionism 2 conference

Abstractionism 2

University of Connecticut 

1–3 May 2020 (postponed due to Covid-19)

10–12 August 2023

Celebrating 40 years of Frege’s Conception of Numbers as Objects!

Keynote speaker:

  • Crispin Wright (University of Stirling)

With talks by:

  • Emery Carlson (University of Minnesota)
  • Roy T. Cook (University of Minnesota)
  • Fiona T. Doherty (Notre Dame, London Global Gateway)
  • Sean Ebels-Duggan (Northwestern University)
  • Shay Allen Logan (Kansas State University)
  • Eileen Nutting (University of Kansas)
  • Walter Pedriali (University of St Andrews)
  • Stewart Shapiro (The Ohio State University/University of Connecticut)
  • Will Stafford (University of Bristol)
  • William Stirton (Independent Scholar)
  • James Studd (University of Oxford)
  • Alan Weir (University of Glasgow)

Other invited participants include:

  • Michael Callaso (University of Minnesota)
  • Philip Ebert (University of Stirling)
  • Richard Kimberly Heck (Brown University)
  • Nathan Kellen (Kansas State University)
  • Øystein Linnebo (University of Oslo)
  • Fraser MacBride (University of Manchester)
  • Sara Parhizgari (University of Minnesota)


Final conference program


Registration deadline for in-person participation: July 31, 2023.

Please register here.

The in-person conference registration fee includes lunch and refreshments for Thursday and Friday.

Online participation is free. Please register to receive the log-in information.

Please email Marcus Rossberg if you have any questions about the conference or encounter any problems.


If you’re coming to Storrs and require a place to stay, here is the link to the website of the campus hotel: www.graduatehotels.com.


Organized by:

Marcus Rossberg, University of Connecticut
Philip A. Ebert, University of Stirling

With the assistance of:

Özcan Karabağ, University of Connecticut


We are grateful for the support provided by: